A Lovely You – Makeup Tips for Every Woman

Bloom Ambassador Review: Pacifica, Stila & Booty Parlor!

Posted on: June 25, 2012

Fair warning, ladies – this month’s Bloom Ambassador Box was PACKED with products, so be prepared for a long post. I will try to make it as reader-friendly as possible. I’m choosing to write one mega review rather than a ton of individual ones because I don’t want to flood y’all with a ton of posts right out of the gate!

Pacifica

I had the opportunity to review several Pacifica products, including two body butters, two lip tints, a roll-on perfume and a luminizer. Some products I liked better than others.

  • Pacifica Color Quench All-Natural Lip Tint – I received two shades of these lip tints: Blood Orange and Coconut Nectar. Blood Orange left a nice hint of color on my lips, but Coconut Nectar was way too white and shimmery for my tastes. I already have fair skin, so putting on this lip tint made me look ghastly and washed out. Both tints are fairly moisturizing, however, so at least they have that in their favor.
  • Pacifica Indian Coconut Body Butter -Normally, I am a sucker for all things coconut scented. This body butter, however, was significantly lacking in the “pleasant scent” category. I was so bummed! I can’t quite put my finger on what was off about this scent, but it just wasn’t coco-nutty enough for me. The formula was great, though – super creamy, absorbed easily and didn’t leave my skin feeling greasy.
  • Pacifica Tuscan Blood Orange Body Butter – A CLEAR winner in my book! Unlike the Coconut body butter, this one smells divine – almost good enough to eat! The formula was the same as with the previous butter – smooth, creamy and left my skin feeling touch-ably soft for a long time. I also happen to have the Blood Orange roll-on, so layering these two leaves me deliciously scented for hours. 5 stars for this one!
  • Pacifica Coconut & Pearls Luminizing Body Butter – This is a great luminizing lotion – it’s not too glittery or shimmery, but rather imparts a nice and subtle sheen that really helps enhance skin tone. A little bit goes a LONG way, though, so if you buy this be warned that less is more. It also has a very light and pleasant scent that doesn’t overpower any other fragrance you may be wearing. Another definite favorite from this month’s box!
  • Pacifica Island Vanilla Roll-On Perfume -Just like my love affair with coconut scents, I adore vanilla fragrance and Pacifica’s roll-on perfume really hit the right notes with me. It smells creamy, dreamy and all-around delicious but isn’t sickeningly sweet or cloying like some vanilla perfumes can tend to be. While the scent doesn’t last very long, I love it so much that frequent re-application doesn’t bother me! It’s also portable, so you can tote it around with you for touch-ups on the go.

Out of all of these Pacifica products, my favorite scent was definitely the Blood Orange body butter – it makes me smell like a tropical vacation! I also really loved the Island Vanilla roll-on perfume.

Next up:

Stila

This month, we had the opportunity to try Stila’s new palettes in the form of shadow sample cards. We were tasked with creating different looks using these shadows, but unfortunately I don’t have any photos to show you. My descriptions will have to do!

  • In The Moment Eye Shadow Palette – This shadow card was a nice mix of neutral shades with one funky blue thrown in for good measure. I’m not entirely sure I’ll ever get any use out of that particular shade, but the rest of the colors are very nice and glide on effortlessly. There’s also some shimmer to them, so be warned if you are averse to shimmery shadows. As for fall-out, I didn’t have any issues with that particular concern.
  • In The Garden Eyeshadow Palette – This was definitely my favorite shadow card of the two we received. It’s got plenty of neutrals and a few fun shades (bright pink, anyone?) that I loved playing around with. This is definitely a great palette for more of a natural eye look, or a “natural eye with a twist.” The quality was very good and again, no fall-out issues that were of any major concern.

Overall, I was really impressed with these shadow cards. Despite their sample size, there is plenty of shadow for several applications so it gave me a good indication of whether or not I’d buy the full palettes. They are more pricy than some shadows, but each palette comes with 10 shades so if you plan to use them regularly I’d consider them a great value.

Finally, we have:

Booty Parlor

Aside from its cheeky name, I’ve always wanted to try Booty Parlor products. Unfortunately, my first experience with the brand fell far short of my expectations. We were tasked with reviewing the Flirty Little Secret Firming Bronzer with Pheromones, and I was less than impressed.

I am way too fair skinned for this bronzer to look anything but an orange mess on me, so for women with darker skin tones, this may work better for you. As for noticing any “extra” attention, I’m sad to say I didn’t notice any. There didn’t seem to be any real firming benefits, either, which I was disappointed with. This doesn’t turn me off from trying other Booty Parlor products in the future, but I was definitely unhappy with my first experience. However, the quality of this product does seem to be more on the high end – it’s creamy and it did apply nicely, it just isn’t for me.

Overall, I was decently pleased with my June Ambassador Box. I was able to try out a lot of different products, and while I didn’t like all of them, I definitely came away with a few new must-have’s! If you’re interested in purchasing any of the products reviewed here or would like to learn more about Bloom, please sign up for an account here.

Have you tried any of these products before? What were your impressions?

Disclaimer: All products mentioned here were provided free of charge for testing and review purposes. All opinions mentioned herein are entirely my own, honest assessment and are not influenced by any type of compensation.

1 Response to "Bloom Ambassador Review: Pacifica, Stila & Booty Parlor!"

[…] can read my review of this body butter here – if you do, you’ll know why it’s made the list of favorites this month! Not only […]

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other subscribers