A Lovely You – Makeup Tips for Every Woman

Best Scrubs for Sensitive Skin

Posted on: August 30, 2011

As a woman who suffers from sensitive skin, I’m very aware that a lot of facial scrubs irritate my face, leaving it red, blotchy and itchy. Luckily, I’ve found several quality scrubs that don’t irritate the skin and actually work incredibly well. If you also suffer from sensitive skin, why not give one of these exfoliators a try?

1. Ole Henriksen New Beginning Scrub

I never knew a scrub could be so gentle yet so darn effective, too, until I tried the New Beginning scrub. All I can say is WOW! The jojoba wax gently sloughs off dry skin while tea tree oil helps purify and revitalize a dull complexion. Plus, the scrub is free of parabens, sulfates, synthetic dyes and other icky chemicals you don’t necessarily want on your face. Yes, it’s a bit pricey but a little goes a long way!

($24, Sephora)

2. St. Ives Sensitive Skin Apricot Scrub

My mother always used the St. Ives Apricot Scrub, and as a child I loved using it and pretending I was “grown up” like her. Unfortunately, the regular version is too harsh on my sensitive skin; that’s why I am so happy they have a version specifically for my skin type! This bargain facial scrub gently yet effectively exfoliates skin just as well as the full strength version, but it doesn’t leave my skin irritated after use. I use it every other day, and my face is smooth and irritation-free.

($3.99, Drugstore.com)

3. Philosophy Never Let Them See You Shine Scrub

As a huge fan of most Philosophy products, I was eager to try their scrub. The packaging proclaims it’s made especially for oily and sensitive skin, and I can honestly say I was impressed. This scrub includes natural exfoliators that gently buff away dry, dead skin without leaving redness or irritation behind and left my face feeling smooth and flake-free.

($20, Beauty.com)

4. Aveeno Active Naturals Skin Brightening Daily Scrub

Gentle enough to use every day, Aveeno’s scrub uses a combination of natural soy extracts and round microbeads to reveal a smoother, brighter complexion. Plus, it’s soap and oil free and hypoallergenic, so even those with extremely sensitive skin can use this gentle scrub on a daily basis for a revitalized complexion.

($4.79, Walgreens)


Have you ever tried any of these scrubs before? Leave a comment letting me know what you think, or tell me your favorite sensitive skin scrub you swear by. Stay lovely!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

