A Lovely You – Makeup Tips for Every Woman

Product Review: Pixi Gel Eyeliner

Posted on: December 10, 2011

I was always a pencil liner gal before I tried Pixi Gel Eyeliner. Since then, I have become a huge fan of gel liners and am so glad I was able to try one out. Keep reading after the break for my full review, as well as purchase information.

First Impressions

When I first received the eyeliner, I was pleasantly surprised that it came with its own brush. While I was a little disappointed by the small size, appearances can be quite deceiving – I quickly discovered that a little bit goes a looooong way, and this little tub will no doubt last me for quite some time.

After Use

While I had never used a gel eyeliner prior to this, I found that application wasn’t difficult at all. This eyeliner uses a simple “dip and press” technique to deposit color onto the brush, where it then glides smoothly across the lid. You can make the line as thin or as thick as you want and I was very happy that there wasn’t a steep learning curve to applying this liner.

The color payoff was exceptional, as well. I have “Onyx,” an inky black shade, and it’s incredibly pigmented. The staying power is also unparalleled to any other liner I’ve used before. This baby literally did not fade on me through 8+ hours of wear, and looked just as good later on during the day as it did when I first applied it.

One complaint – because the staying power is so amazing, I found this liner a little tricky to remove, even with my heavy duty eye makeup remover. However, it’s definitely worth it just for the longevity alone.

Overall

Overall, I would DEFINITELY recommend Pixi Gel Eyeliner to anyone who desires highly pigmented, long-lasting liner. While I still use pencil liner on occasion and to line the inner rims of my eyes, I have put this gel liner into heavy rotation, especially when I want a really dramatic makeup look.

You can purchase this eyeliner at Target for $18.

Have you ever tried Pixi Gel Liner? What do you think?

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

