A Lovely You – Makeup Tips for Every Woman

Product Review: Maybelline Dream Bouncy Blush in Pink Frosting

Posted on: February 16, 2012

I’ve heard mixed reviews about Maybelline’s latest product innovation,Dream Bouncy Blush.I was on the fence for awhile before I decided to buy one, but I finally caved. Keep reading after the break for my full review.

First Impressions

When I first received my blush, I liked the way the shade (Pink Frosting) looked in the compact. However, it was sort of a pain in the you-know-what to open. Once I finally got the sticky tape off, I had to figure out how to open the compact without busting a fingernail. I don’t know if anyone else has had this issue, so maybe it’s just me. I’m happy to report that I seem to have it down, now, so no worries about breaking a nail all for a blush.

The blush feels like a soft pillow, hence the name “Bouncy.” Seriously, it’s fun. Of all the previous reviews I’ve seen on this product, the texture seems to be universally liked. This is definitely a blush you need to apply with your fingers, so put your blush brush away for this product.

Overall

One of the things I’d seen in reviews was that many of the lighter shades aren’t highly pigmented. I wouldn’t consider Pink Frosting particularly dark, but compared to a few of the other shades, it looks darker than some. I have really fair skin, so I wasn’t worried about color payoff. I did have to use more of this blush to get the coverage I was looking for, but it wasn’t too bad. I think it gave my cheeks a nice pink flush that looked natural and not at all clownish (sorry, no pics to show you until I get a better camera.)

If you have darker skin, you may want to opt for one of the darker colors, or be prepared to layer the blush several times to get buildable color. Staying power seems average for this blush; it lasted about 5 hours before I felt the need to reapply. While it isn’t my favorite blush, I definitely like it more than the average beauty blogger seems to – the texture is weird, but fun, and the color looks natural and is definitely buildable.

I plan to pick up at least two more shades (I’m eying Candy Coral and Hot Tamale.) For the price, I think it’s a decent drugstore blush that works well for every day wear.

Price: $7.99

Availability: I purchased mine from Ulta, but drugstores also carry these

Have you tried this blush? What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

