A Lovely You – Makeup Tips for Every Woman

Product Review: Winks by Georgie Style No. 2 L’Avant Gardiste Faux Lashes

Posted on: April 23, 2012

DISCLAIMER: This product was provided to me free of charge via the Bloom Ambassador Program. My review reflects my 100% honest opinion, and is not influenced by free product or monetary gain.

Through my work with the Bloom Ambassador Program, I was able to try Winks by Georgie false lashes. I’ve tried many brands of faux lashes in the past, but always the drugstore variety. I was very excited to try a higher quality lash product, and was hoping to achieve good results.

First Impressions:

The lashes are nicely packaged, and come with their own compact and mirror. I broke my purse mirror recently, so these lashes came at the perfect time! When they are no longer wearable, I’ll be able to use the compact as a mirror – definitely a bonus. The lashes look very high quality, and are actually both all-natural and eco-friendly.

Since my experience with falsies has come exclusively from drugstore brands, I was eager to give these a test run. I didn’t have any special events planned, so I tested these during the day to see if they were suitable for daytime wear.

First Wear:

These are no more difficult to apply than other types of falsies. In fact, they were a cinch – even for faux lash novices. Simply apply your eye makeup as you normally would, then hold a lash up to your eye to see if it fits. Luckily, I didn’t have to trim these down, but if they are too long for your eye shape just take a small pair of scissors and trim the ends.

Now, unfortunately I was unable to use the lash glue that came with my lashes. I think I received a dried up tube. Luckily, I had glue left over from a previous set of falsies so I was able to apply these normally. Simply apply a thin strand of glue onto the lash band, then bend the lashes into a “U” shape for about 60 seconds to allow the glue to get tacky. Then, all you need to do is place the falsie as close to your natural lash line as possible, starting from the center of your eye and pressing outwards. Voila! Instant glam.

These only took me one try to apply perfectly, but if you are a beginner don’t be afraid to reapply a few times until you get the look just right. They really are simple! Removal is a cinch, too; just gently tug them off. I used a little baby oil to get rid of the lash adhesive residue, but you can also use makeup remover as well.

Overall:

I have tried these a few times since receiving them, and I am pleased to report that while they look a little dramatic in the case, these definitely work for daily wear. They blend nicely with my real lashes, and provided you don’t put mascara on them they will last for several wears. Just make sure to  put them back in the case when you’re done to help them retain their shape!

I would definitely recommend these lashes to anyone looking for high-quality, eco-friendly falsies that work for day or night. While it’s unfortunate my lash glue was dried up, I am sure this is just one of those one-off things. It didn’t detract from my overall experience with Winks by Georgie, and I can’t wait to try other styles from the brand!

Rating: 4/5

Price: $28

Availability: Bloom.com

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

