A Lovely You – Makeup Tips for Every Woman

Bloom Ambassador Review: Kaia Bamboo Cleansing Cloths

Posted on: June 21, 2012

As a Bloom Ambassador, I am sent products each month to rest and give my 100% honest feedback on. This month, we received a TON of goodies – so be prepared for a slew of review posts over the next week or so! Today, I am reviewing the Kaia Bamboo Cleansing Cloths, which are 100% biodegradable and ideal for all skin types.

Before I get to my review, here is the official product information, including an ingredients list and benefits:

Who It’s For: Ideal for all skin types, including sensitive or rosacea-prone skin.

How It Works:

  • Bamboo is naturally able to eliminate bacteria, stays fresher and odor-free for longer and is more hygienic and healthier than any other fiber. In China, bamboo fiber is used to make medical gowns, as it is naturally antimicrobial and perfect for a sterile environment. The bamboo used in Kaia Cleansing Cloths is unbleached to keep it free from chemicals.
  • Grapefruit oil tightens puffy skin, reduces enlarged pores and removes impurities.
  • Lemon oil is a powerful astringent and antiseptic.
  • Lime oil has astringent and antiseptic properties and boosts skin circulation and clears congested skin
  • Bergamot oil has antiseptic and antibiotic properties.
  • Mandarin oil has good antiseptic and cell rejuvenating properties.
  • Orange oil nourishes skin and improves skin tone for a healthy, smooth look.
  • Spearmint oil is has antiseptic properties and can prevent pimples and acne.
  • Tangerine oil increase circulation to the skin.
  • Canadian organic honey is an emollient and nutrient with antioxidant and anti-microbial properties with the ability to absorb and retain moisture.
  • Sunflower seed oil is a rich emollient high in linoleic and oleic essential fatty acids and vitamin E.
  • Sodium lauroyl oat amino acids, derived from oats, is an extremely mild cleansing agent.
  • Panthenol is a moisturizer, derived from vitamin B5, with humectant-like properties that aid in skin absorption.
  • Salicylic acid gently exfoliates the skin, reducing sebum build-up.
  • Acacia gum, derived from the acacia tree, is soothing to the skin.

Suggested Use: Getting the most from your cleansing cloth is important as the cloths are packaged to last you an entire month: Use both sides of the cloth.

  • Step 1: Remove your facial makeup first.
  • Step 2: Then flip the cloth over and remove lipstick and eye makeup last.

For this review, I started with a full makeup face – foundation, concealer, eyeshadow/liner/mascara, blush and lipstick. I was tasked with cleaning one side of my face with a cheap cleansing cloth or washcloth and the other side with the Kaia Bamboo cloth. Unfortunately, I do not have a working camera at the moment so I am unable to show you before and after pics – but I can assure you, the results were very different!

On the right side of my face, I used a Biore cleansing cloth. These work okay, but they don’t take off my stubborn gel eyeliner and they leave my skin feeling a little tight. On the left side of my face, I used the Kaia cloth and it took off EVERYTHING – and I do mean everything! The Kaia cloths are unbelievably soft on my skin, and I don’t feel that I have to really work at getting the makeup off. It slides right off easily with no tugging or pulling. The bamboo really does help take off my eye makeup too, especially my mascara – usually, I have leftover mascara on my lashes and I have to scrub to get it off. Not so with the Kaia cloths! Plus, the scent is light and not very noticeable, unlike my Biore cloths which have a very perfume-y scent to them. PLUS, it didn’t irritate my eyes. My eyes are really sensitive, so I have to be careful about what I use near/on them – but these cloths took off every stitch of makeup I had on without making my eyes red, sting or burn.

While I am super impressed with the performance of these cloths, the price – $17.99 for 30 – is a little steep for every day use. However, I would definitely purchase these when I had a little extra cash, and would ration these puppies out so they last.

If you are interested in purchasing these for yourself, sign up for a Bloom account here. They truly do work, and I can easily say they are the best facial cleansing cloths I’ve tried! You will not be disappointed.

Disclaimer: The product(s) mentioned in this review were provided to me free of charge for the purpose of providing honest feedback. My opinions are 100% honest and my own, and are not influenced by free product, compensation or any type of monetary gain.

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

