A Lovely You – Makeup Tips for Every Woman

My Must-Have Pedicure Products

Posted on: July 11, 2012

I’ll admit, I’m pretty lax when it comes to my pedicures… a little trimming/filing if needed, a coat of polish and then I’m over it. However, it’s sandal season and I’d like to take more time with my pedicures than a quick paint and go. For that reason, I’ve found several must-have pedicure products that (hopefully) help whip my feet into shape!

1. Neutrogena Norwegian Formula Foot Creme

This may be a little TMI, but my feet are seriously gross. I have calluses and they’re just overly rough and dry. I’ve only used this foot cream a couple of times, but I really have high hopes for it. My feet feel much softer the moment I smooth it on and with continued use I should see a dramatic improvement in the overall condition of my feet. I would definitely recommend it!

($4.39, Drugstore.com)

2. Foot File

I use a cheapo one I purchased at Ulta for $2 because I don’t feel the need to spend a lot on these types of tools. However, you can look around to find one that works for you. Any type of foot file, pumice stone, or something like the Ped-Egg will work. Just make sure to read the directions for whichever tool you buy – some require you to wet your feet, while others (like the Ped-Egg) are used on dry skin only.

3. Nail Clippers/File

This sounds self explanatory, but it’s absolutely essential to a good pedicure. Whether you prefer glass files or standard emery boards, find one you like and stick with it. A good pair of toenail clippers will come in handy as well. I prefer to use a separate clipper for my fingernails and my toenails, because regular fingernail clippers just don’t seem to work as well when I’m giving myself a pedicure. When clipping, just make sure to clip straight across and file to the desired shape.

4. Base Coat & Top Coat

I’ll admit, I tend to be lazy with this step when I’m doing my toenails. However, after an annoying staining incident I realize that I need to be using a base coat every time I paint my toes. You should also use a top coat as well to help protect the polish and give it a finished, glossy look. You can also reapply top coat every couple of days or so to help extend the life of your polish as well as perk it up when the polish has dulled but you don’t feel like a complete polish change.

The base/top coats I use: Zoya Anchor (base) and CND Super Shiny Top Coat.

These are my recommended pedicure essentials. I am sure a lot of people have a different list than I do (like a cuticle remover, cuticle oil, orange stick, etc,) but I just don’t see the reason for some of those tools when I am doing an at-home pedicure. What products do you find absolutely essential when doing an at-home pedi?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

