A Lovely You – Makeup Tips for Every Woman

Brand Spotlight: 5 Favorite Products from Maybelline

Posted on: July 12, 2012

This week, I’d like to highlight a few of my favorite Maybelline products for this Brand Spotlight. I know that a lot of women seem to have a love/hate (sometimes just hate) relationship with the brand, and while I have definitely encountered some duds there are a few products that continue to impress me every time I use them.

Shade Pictured: Bad to the Bronze

1. Eye Studio Color Tattoo 24HR Cream Gel Shadow

I was hooked on these shadows the moment I tried them, so I’m glad I bought into all the hype and decided to give these a go. I have a few shades, and all of them are not only gorgeously pigmented but seriously long lasting, too. Do they last 24 hours? Heck if I know since I’m long past my “partying all night” days (mostly…), but I can tell you they last a good 8+ hours with very little to no fading or creasing.

Shade Pictured: Candy Coral

2. Dream Bouncy Blush

There were a lot of mixed reviews on these when they first came out, but I’m glad I decided to give them a try. I love how light and airy they are – there’s something so fun about the sponge-like texture. Plus, the color is buildable – you can opt for a sheer flush of color or build it up for a more eye popping shade. Plus, it lasts a decent amount of time on my finicky skin.

3. Shine Sensational Lip Gloss

If it were up to me, I’d have ALL of the flavors available from this line – the few I do have are simply delectable. They add a gorgeous color and a high-gloss shine, but they’re not as sticky as you’d think. Yes, there is definitely SOME stickiness, but that kind of thing has never bothered me. My favorite? Crazy for Caramel – it tastes and smells so heavenly, you have to try it to believe it!

Shade Pictured: Disco Pink

4. Color Sensational High Shine Lipstick

These are soooo pigmented and make my lips look super shiny, like I have gloss on – but I don’t. Since I normally like to apply gloss over my lipstick, these are great to have on hand when I just want to swipe and go. Honestly, if you haven’t tried these yet, do so – it doesn’t feel drying like other lipsticks can and it really does what it claims to do.

Shade Pictured: Pink Punch

5. Baby Lips Lip Balm

You can see the review I wrote on these here, and all these months later I still like to have a couple of these balms on hand. I prefer the minty varieties (like Peppermint) more than the colored ones, because I feel they’re more moisturizing. Plus, the colored ones make chapped lips REALLY noticeable, I’ve discovered – I keep those for when my lips are in good condition. Overall, though, these are great balms for the price and I love the fun, colorful packaging.

There you have it – my homage to Maybelline. What are your favorite Maybelline products? Any that stand out to you over all others?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

